Skip to main content
Faculty & Staff Resources / Directors of Undergraduate Studies

Directors of Undergraduate Studies

Each department and program has a director of undergraduate studies (DUS) whose primary responsibility is to focus on the academic and intellectual development of declared majors and the undergraduate curriculum.

The 2024 - 2025 DUS meetings are scheduled at 12:30pm on the following Tuesdays:

2024: August 20th, September 17th, October 15th, November 12th, and December 3rd

2025: January 21st, February 18th, March 25th, April 15th and May 6th

It is requested that a faculty department representative attend when the DUS is unable to meet.

For more information view the DUS Dashboard.

Department or Program* DUS Email
African American and Africana Studies Vanessa Holden vanessa.holden@uky.edu  
Anthropology Juliana McDonald jmcdo2@uky.edu
Appalachian Studies Ann Kingsolver ann.kingsolver@uky.edu
Biology Kay Shenoy kay.shenoy@uky.edu
Chemistry Beth Guiton dus.chemistry@uky.edu 
Earth & Environmental Sciences Ryan Thigpen ryan.thigpen@uky.edu
Economics Darshak Patel darshak.patel@uky.edu
English - Creative Writing Shauna Morgan shauna.morgan@uky.edu 
English - Literature Matt Godbey matthew.godbey@uky.edu 
Environmental & Sustainability Studies Andy Wood andrew.wood@uky.edu
Foreign Language & International Economics Jianjun He jianjun.he@uky.edu
Gender & Women's Studies Mel Stein melissa.stein@uky.edu 
Geography Andy Wood andrew.wood@uky.edu
Health Society Pop. Mel Stein melissa.stein@uky.edu 
Hispanic Studies Juan Fernandez Cantero  juan.fernandez@uky.edu 
History Melanie Goan melanie.goan@uky.edu
International Studies Bess Dawson bessdawson@uky.edu
Liberal Studies Clayton Thyne clayton.thyne@uky.edu 
Linguistics Andrew Byrd andrewbyrd@uky.edu
Mathematical Economics Adib Bagh adib.bagh@uky.edu
Mathematics Alberto Corso alberto.corso@uky.edu
MCLLC/Arabic, Chinese, French, German, Japanese, and Russian Julie Human julie.human@uky.edu
Neuroscience Robin Cooper rlcoop1@uky.edu 
Philosophy Eric Sanday eric.sanday@uky.edu 
Physics & Astronomy Ron Wilhelm ron.wilhelm@uky.edu
Political Science Bridgett King Bridgett.King@uky.edu 
Psychology Andrea Friedrich amfrie0@email.uky.edu
Sociology Jordan Brown jordan.t.brown@uky.edu
Statistics Melissa Pittard melissa.pittard@uky.edu
Writing, Rhetoric, and Digital Studies Craig Crowder cacr223@uky.edu 
US Culture and Business Practices Lee Bullock lee.bullock@uky.edu 

 

If you have any questions regarding DUS meetings or appointments, please contact Colleen Knight at colleen.knight@uky.edu.