Skip to main content
Faculty & Staff Resources / Directors of Undergraduate Studies

Directors of Undergraduate Studies

Each department and program has a director of undergraduate studies (DUS) whose primary responsibility is to focus on the academic and intellectual development of declared majors and the undergraduate curriculum.

The 2024 - 2025 DUS meetings are scheduled at 12:30pm on the following Tuesdays:

2024: August 20th, September 17th, October 15th, November 12th, and December 3rd

2025: January 21st, February 18th, March 25th, April 15th and May 6th

It is requested that a faculty department representative attend when the DUS is unable to meet.

For more information view the DUS Dashboard.

Department or Program* DUS Email
African American and Africana Studies Vanessa Holden  
Anthropology Juliana McDonald
Appalachian Studies Ann Kingsolver
Biology Kay Shenoy
Chemistry Beth Guiton 
Earth & Environmental Sciences Ryan Thigpen
Economics Darshak Patel
English - Creative Writing Shauna Morgan 
English - Literature Matt Godbey 
Environmental & Sustainability Studies Andy Wood
Foreign Language & International Economics Jianjun He
Gender & Women's Studies Mel Stein 
Geography Andy Wood
Health Society Pop. Mel Stein 
Hispanic Studies Juan Fernandez Cantero 
History Melanie Goan
International Studies Bess Dawson
Liberal Studies Clayton Thyne 
Linguistics Andrew Byrd
Mathematical Economics Adib Bagh
Mathematics Alberto Corso
MCLLC/Arabic, Chinese, French, German, Japanese, and Russian Julie Human
Neuroscience Robin Cooper 
Philosophy Eric Sanday 
Physics & Astronomy Ron Wilhelm
Political Science Bridgett King 
Psychology Andrea Friedrich
Sociology Jordan Brown
Statistics Melissa Pittard
Writing, Rhetoric, and Digital Studies Craig Crowder 
US Culture and Business Practices Lee Bullock 


If you have any questions regarding DUS meetings or appointments, please contact Colleen Knight at