Skip to main content

Chellgren Center Honors 43 New Fellows

by Jenny Wells

Paul Chellgren, left, talks with the 2014-15 class of Chellgren Fellows.(Aug. 26, 2014) — The University of Kentucky Chellgren Center for Undergraduate Excellence honored its newest class of Chellgren Fellows this past weekend.  Benefactor Paul Chellgren, along with Chellgren Endowed Chair Philipp Kraemer, recognized and congratulated the students on being named Fellows.

The Chellgren Fellows Program is for students with exceptional academic potential and aspirations, who are eager to participate in a special learning community designed to cultivate extraordinary achievement. Outstanding faculty members from across campus serve as individual mentors for the Fellows.

The students selected as 2014-15 Chellgren Fellows include:

  • Shiza Arshad, an international studies and Chinese double major from Lexington
  • Evelyn Beckert, an undergraduate studies major from Henderson, Ky.
  • Stacey Brothers, a psychology and Spanish double major from Florence, Ky.
  • Elysha Calhoun, a chemical engineering major from Independence, Ky. 
  • David Cole, an English major from Monticello, Ky.
  • Ashley Cutshaw, a biosystems engineering major from Kalamazoo, Mich. 
  • Emily Daley, a chemical engineering major from LaGrange, Ky.
  • Thomas Daley, a biology major from Franklin, Ohio
  • Sabita Dumre, a biology major from Lexington
  • Abraham Dutch, a computer science and mathematics double major from Lexington
  • Taylor Elder, a psychology and kinesiology double major from Kent, Ohio
  • Marley Foertsch, a biology major from Wyndmere, N.D.
  • Janet Hall, a psychology major from Fort Thomas, Ky.
  • Kyle Hancock, undeclared major from Frankfort, Ky.
  • Kaylee Hicks, an international studies (Latin American Global Development) major; pre-medicine from Versailles, Ky. 
  • Ross Hildabrand, an accounting, economics and finance triple major from Brentwood, Tenn.
  • Ameena Khan, a psychology major from Frankfort, Ky. 
  • Hannah Latta, a biology major from Mayfield, Ky.
  • Kaitlin Lemaster, an animal science and chemistry double major from Louisa, Ky.
  • Ryan McElhose, a psychology major from Hinton, Iowa
  • Zerina Mehic, animal science major; pre-veterinary science from Twin Falls, Idaho
  • Caroline Nickerson, a mechanical engineering major from Stevens Point, Wis.
  • Marie Noel, an equine science and management double major from Rineyville, Ky.
  • Meredith O'Dell, a geology major from Richmond, Ky.
  • Michael Parsons, an international studies and Spanish double major from Lexington
  • Nathan Petrie, an English major from Independence, Ky.
  • Boone Proffitt, a civil engineering major from Louisville
  • Sibi Rajendran, a biology major from Frankfort, Ky. 
  • William Reichert, a chemical engineering major from Louisville
  • Matthew Resch, a mathematics major from Stafford, Va. 
  • Paige Richie, an international studies and political science double major from Mason, Ohio
  • Rebecca Schladt, a civil engineering major from Lexington
  • Abby Schroering, a theater and art history double major from Louisville
  • Austin Sprinkles, a political science major from Barbourville, Ky. 
  • Loretta Stafford, a political science major from Madisonville, Ky. 
  • Angelo Stekardis, a computer engineering major from Prospect, Ky. 
  • Danielle Stephens, a biology major from Salyersville, Ky. 
  • Anna Townsend, a biology major from Crestwood, Ky. 
  • Ava Vargason, a chemical engineering major from Iowa City, Iowa
  • Madeline Wagner, a nursing major from Springfield, Ill.
  • Natalie Watkins, an English major from Barrington, Ill. 
  • Jared Wittrock, a chemical engineering major from Alexandria, Ky. 
  • Samantha Young, a marketing and management double major from Channahon, Ill. 


2014-15 Chellgren FellowsThe Chellgren Fellows Program was made possible by the Chellgren Center, which was created in 2005 with an initial gift from Paul Chellgren and his family. His total commitment of $2.25 million was matched by the state’s Endowment Match Program, creating a $4.5 million endowment for the Chellgren Center for Undergraduate Excellence.

As a UK undergraduate, Chellgren was an Honors Program student and star intercollegiate debater. After earning his MBA from Harvard and a D.D.E. from Oxford University, he began a successful career that culminated with his retirement as chairman and CEO of Ashland Inc. He was inducted into UK’s Hall of Distinguished Alumni in 2000 and the Gatton College of Business and Economics Hall of Fame in 1995, and served on the UK Board of Trustees for 11 years. His commitment to improving and enriching undergraduate education at UK continues to impact thousands of UK students, faculty and staff.

The Chellgren Center is part of the Academy of Undergraduate Excellence within the Division of Undergraduate Education at UK.