Where Can Economics Take Me?

More Than Just Money: The Vastness of an Economics Degree

A degree in economics prepares students for interesting and financially rewarding careers in private business, consulting, government, financial service institutions and numerous other sectors. Economics majors are also well-suited for graduate programs including MBA and MPA programs, and law schools.

Graduating with a bachelor's degree in economics can prepare a graduate for jobs such as:

  • Forecaster of overall economic conditions
  • Researcher/Analyst for government agencies
  • Teaching in public schools or higher education
  • Consultant on legal cases involving antitrust, legal liability, damages, regulation and discrimination.

Below is a list of some more occupations appropriate for economics majors:

Banking and Financial Services
Bank Management
Loan Officer
Commodities/Stock Broker
Economic Forecaster
Credit Accounting Coordinator
Securities Analyst
Pension Funds Administrator
Portfolio Administrator

Government
Regional/Urban Planner
Foreign Trade Analyst
Social Security Administrator
Cost Analyst
Tax Administrator
Budget Officer
Lobbyist

Business
Market Analyst
Purchasing Agent
Public Relations
Real Estate Agent
Systems Evaluator
Forecaster
Contract Administrator
Auditor
Financial Analyst
Pricing Analyst

Insurance
Underwriter
Claims Adjuster
Benefits Analyst

 

Some employers of economics majors

Ameriprise Financial - www.ameriprise.com
Board of Governors of the Federal Reserve System - www.federalreserve.gov
Cambridge Associates- www.cambridgeassociates.com
CIGNA - www.cigna.com
Economy.com - www.economy.com
DuPont - www.dupont.com
GEICO Direct - www.geico.com
ING Direct - www.ingdirect.com
MassMutual - www.massmutual.com
Merrill Lynch - www.ml.com
Northrop Grumman - www.northropgrumman.com
PFPC Worldwide - www.pncgis.com
Smith Barney - www.smithbarney.com
Vanguard - www.vanguard.com
Wells Fargo Financial - www.wellsfargo.com

For more information about careers, go to the following: 

National Association for Business Economists - www.nabe.com
American Economic Association - www.aeaweb.org
After College - Economics Career Network - www.aftercollege.com
Econ Jobs - www.econ-jobs.com
Economics Bulletin - www.economicsbulletin.com
Institute for International Economics - www.iie.com
National Council on Economic Education - www.ncee.net
JOE - Job Openings for Economists - www.aeaweb.org/joe
Cengage Learning - Information for economics majors - www.swcollege.com/bef/economics_careers/career_resources_degree.html

 

For more information about career opportunities, contact the UK Career Center.

X
Enter your UK College of Arts & Sciences username.
Enter the password that accompanies your username.
Secure Login

This login is SSL protected

Loading